Me Made May: American Week, and a final wrapup

It’s ‘Murica time! I really thought I’d be short on clothes this week, but, uh, no. Turns out I have an awful lot of clothes!

American Week Collage

It cracks me up how many of my American clothes are red, white and blue! 

I wore:

  • 1 Grainline Scout knit tee
  • 1 Grainline Hemlock tee
  • 1 Grainline Morris blazer made of jegging fabric (made this month, but not blogged)
  • 1 pair of Made with Moxie Prefontaine shorts
  • 2 McCalls cardigans
  • 2 Colette Myrtle dresses (I didn’t enjoy making the pattern work, but I like the finished dresses!)
  • 4 Jamie Christine Mission Maxi tanks or dresses (plus my pjs are Mission Maxis, so I’ve got my money’s worth from the pattern!)

With that, another Me Made May is over! I found it pretty easy to dress within my chosen parameters (patterns from a different region each week), and I had plenty of clothes still unworn at the end… but after a few years of quite strict rules for myself I’m starting to wonder what it’s like to do MMM without any rules! Maybe next year I’ll focus more on styling or something, and just wear whatever I want? We’ll see!

I take all my pics at 7am before leaving for work, so I like to keep things easy… this year I hung 3m of cheap knit over a temporary curtain rod to use as a backdrop. It worked alright… but it threw off the white balance for my camera, and too many of my turquoise clothes camouflage right into the backdrop! Next time I might go for *gasp* plain white or maybe some polka dots like Almond Rock’s new wallpaper! We live in a really ugly 70’s apartment full of furniture and boxes of junk, so just out of shot I was surrounded by cat food, cat liter, stacks of chairs, a huge armchair, and a NordicTrack! Behind the fabric is a radiator, socket, and peeling linoleum. How photogenic!

Behind the scenes for MMM...

My flags were made quickly at the start of each week out of whatever I could find in my sewing room… an old blue envelop a pattern came in, washi tape, paper, marker, and scraps of jersey. I think i got every flag equally wrong, so hopefully no one is offended!

I love looking back at old MMM posts to see what I was wearing that year… so here’s the complete roundup:

Canada Week Collage

European Week Collage

Aussie Kiwi Week!

I have to say, I really love my me-made wardrobe! I don’t feel any guilt about wear RTW stuff, but most of my clothes through the year are me-made. My colour palette (aka my blog header) is pretty consistent, and older makes mix in well with the new. I do have a LOT of clothes though, enough that sewing more seems silly… but there’s always something new to try, isn’t there? Plus. obviously, I can never have too many versions of a favourite pattern!

I sewed quite a few new things this month, and did a bunch of alterations (usually morning off, usually not well planned!) but I’ll cover that in another post!

Happy MMM to everyone, and thanks to Zoe for organising it and to all of you for putting up with this long rambling post! 


17 thoughts on “Me Made May: American Week, and a final wrapup

    1. 🙂 Thank you! Just once I’d like May to have better weather though, or at least be more consistent… I’d plan out my outfit options each week, and somehow it kept being too cold! (It would be fun to see a me0made June or January though – I wonder how different people’s clothes are in other seasons?)

      Like

  1. Congrats on finishing! I want to hear more about your Morris blazer made from jegging fabric. I’ve thought about doing something like that with other jacket patterns but was skeptical that the jegging fabric would have enough body to make things work.

    Like

    1. The fabric itself worked pretty well, but I wish I hadn’t gone for the contrast lapels and cuffs… and I wish the jacket was a bit more cropped on me! I think because I’m using one of the largest sizes it’s coming out a bit long on me. Easy to fix for nect time though!

      Like

  2. Agree, I love following your MMM posts! You always have such a creative take on it, and your clothes (and photos) are always bright and cheerful. Congrats on another great month!

    And yes, I want to see more of that Morris blazer. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hahaha – I kept feeling like someone might take offense at my interpretation of their flag… but of course, sewing people are too nice for that!🙂

      Like

    1. That’s my favourite dress too! I have another one I made for my birthday last year which didn’t get worn for MMM – gotta wear it soon!🙂

      Like

  3. I love that Cake maxi too I even have the pattern so may make a homage in its honour.🙂 You have a lovely wardrobe. So many lovely things and so colour coordinated. I can never do that, all my plans go straight out the windows when I hit a fabric shop. Xx

    Like

    1. I fell in love with the idea of a colour palette a few years ago, and it’s been such a help! Everything matches together, and I end up with far fewer random coloured fabrics!

      Like

  4. What a great round up! I think your wardrobe looks great and seems very you! My husband has been asking me a lot lately, “how will you keep sewing when you have an entire closet full of handmade clothes?” – and I really don’t know. I guess I’ll have to start donating some items.

    Like

  5. Your red, white, and blue outfits!!! HAHAHAHAHA! “Oh beautiful, for spacious skies, for amber waves of grain…” now I’m going to have “America, the Beautiful” stuck in my head all day!

    You have the cutest wardrobe! Your MMM was so fun to watch!😀

    Like

  6. I really like your Myrtle dresses, the draped neckline is so cute and the fabrics look great! It looks like the patterns you use are pretty equally distibuted between the continents. Fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

