Scandinavian Fabric Stars

10

As soon as winter sets in, I get an overwhelming urge to make handicrafts. Felt, fabric, embroidery – you name it!  Yesterday I post on IG while making these stars, and since lots of people were asking me about them, I thought I’d do a quick little post!

I learned to make these through Pinterest, using a tutorial by a Danish blogger Named Sofie Legarth. If you use the translate feature on Google Chrome, it’s easy enough to follow along on her tutorial… but just in case you prefer English instructions, I thought I’d do a little tutorial here!

1

Step 1: Choose 4 fabrics that you like together. It’s the perfect way to use up quilting cotton – I have a huge stash of fat quarters that I bought in Japan before I started sewing clothes!

2

Pictured: Front and back of the same ornaments. I like how the variation of a large print or stripe show differently on each side!

3

Step 2: Cut 8cm x 30cm rectangles (about 12″ x 3 1/4″).  I like to stack up several layers of fabric so I can cut them all at once!

Step 3: Iron the stripes so they are like double-fold bias tape. (In half, then fold the edges in to the centre, and iron again.)

4

Step 4: Fold the strips almost in half, so one end is a few centimeters longer than the other. Start weaving them together, so that each strip is sandwiching the previous one. Pull the ends of the last strip through the loop of the first.

Step 5: Pull the strips snug. It should now hold together on it’s own.

5

Step 6: Flip it over, and weave the long ends together (just like folding down the top of a cardboard box).

Step 7: Pull snug.

6

Step 8: In turn, fold each of the strips into a triangular point.

Step 9: Fold the point in half, and tuck the long end into the ornament with a finger.

7

Step 10: Ta-da! Done. Give it a good press with a hot iron and steam to lock the folds in place.

8

Step 11: Use embroidery floss to sew on a loop, then hang it up! I like to use a dark green floss to the loop blends into the tree, but if you were making a garland you might choose a different colour.

0

I’ve made about 20 this year, and I’ll give away half of them to friends and coworkers. They are the perfect size to tuck in a card, and they are a lot quicker than most ornaments to make!

Posting this crafty tutorial is taking me back to one of my first ever blog posts, back in November 2012, when I posted about how to make a felted ball ornament using a thrifted sweater. I didn’t even sew clothes back then! Crafting A Rainbow started off literally about crafting, before sewing took hold a few months later!

Do you have a favourite ornament to make and give? I’m looking for something new to give to my family this year!


92 thoughts on “Scandinavian Fabric Stars

Leave a Reply

