Searching for the Perfect Summer Tank: Jalie 3245 and Santa Fe

Earlier this month, I mentioned that I’m looking for a TNT summer tank pattern. Itch To Stitch Lago wasn’t right for me, so I thought I’d mention a few patterns I already love!

Summer Tanks - Jalie and Santa Fe

First up, the Hey June Santa Fe! This was my favourite pattern last summer, and I love all those versions still. It’s a swingy, loose style – although after wearing voluminous Ebony dresses all winter, the Santa Fe seems quite tame in comparison!

Summer Tanks - Jalie and Santa Fe

Anyone recognise this ITY from fabric.com? I also bought it in the red, blue and yellow colourway (instead of this pink), and I know I’ve seen a few other bloggers sew with it!Β 

Thoughts on this pattern:

  • It also has a t-shirt and colour-blocked versions – I’ve made them all!
  • I like the high neckline and cut-away shoulders.
  • I love the curved hem, but I’ve also made it with a straight hem, and that’s cute too.
  • It works best in ITY, rayon or other drapey knits, in my opinion.

On to the next pattern: Jalie 3245!

Summer Tanks - Jalie and Santa Fe

This is a really classic tank – nothing new or revolutionary, but I bet we’ve all owned RTW just like this! I’ve sewn the raglan version of this pattern many times (I wore different versions for a week straight in Me-Made May once!), but I tried the tank for the first time this spring. I’ve sewn 5 in a month, so that’s a good sign, right?

Summer Tanks - Jalie and Santa Fe

This version is made in a rayony-cottony-mystery remnant. I loved the stripes and bright coral!

Thoughts on this pattern:

  • Unlike the Lago, this fits me perfectly under the arms.
  • I like the curved hem, and I’ve combined it with other patterns.
  • Several of my raglan versions felt short over time, so I initially lengthened the tank… but then it was too long! This is the length as drafted, and I think it’s almost right on me.
  • Moving forward, I’ll make the neckline about 1/4″ bigger, which will also visually narrow the shoulder straps.

Of course, the point of a basic TNT is versatility, so here are a few versions I’ve made of each pattern!

Summer Tanks - Jalie and Santa Fe

Top row: Black crepe knit Santa Fe, rayon coral leopard Santa Fe, and ITY Santa Fe!

Bottom row: Rayon stripe Jalie tank, ITY sundress hacked from Jalie tank, mystery fabric tank.Β 

Have you sewn either the Santa Fe or the Jalie tank?Β I’m considering trying out the new Chalk and Notch Pony tank, because Meg raved about it, but I wonder if it different enough from the Santa Fe?


23 thoughts on “Searching for the Perfect Summer Tank: Jalie 3245 and Santa Fe

  1. Oh I love them all! I really need to get on the clothes make wagon here. The more blogs I got involved with the more I wanna do clothes. I do quilts and bags mostly right now. I always love expanding my knowledge though!

    Like

    1. GET SEWING! Seriously, don’t even think about the first garment needing to work out and be wearable… I think it’s just about starting that first project so that the second and third come after!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The word “hack” really is overused, isn’t it? We always got asked for hack posts at the Curvy Sewing Collective but I can’t tell what is a hack and what is just obvious – like, make the side seams long and it’s a dress? Is that a hack? Who knows. I like your tank though!

      Like

  2. Both are adorable and have a great fit! Love your fabric choices, as usual.

    I’m sorry- I meant to compare the Pony Tank to the Santa Fe, but it slipped my mind during all the packing and moving stuff. And now both patterns are out of my hands for 3 months!

    Like

    1. LOL – you mean pattern comparisions were at the top of your mind as you packed up your whole life to move across continents???? I hope the three of you arrives safely and your cat didn’t look her mind!

      Like

  3. Although I’ve only made the Jalie tank once, I love the fit and it’s one of my favourite lounging -around-the-house pieces. I’d probably sleep in it but it’s a ridged knit that’s not really comfy for that. I made the tunic length and scooped out the neck more.

    I should make more, but I have few enough days off that I don’t need a large wardrobe for them. I am short of summer tops this year, though… πŸ˜‚

    Like

    1. All my nightdresses are knit tanks! (um, do I sound 80 when I call them nightdresses? I think I might. Oh well!) What is your sewing space going to be like in the new house?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will have to negotiate some space in the basement with the kids (at least initially…) Probably the “bedroom” down there, but I could theoretically take over the whole kitchenette. πŸ˜‚

        Like

  4. They both look like great fits on you. I was going to suggest the Pony tank, which I recently sewed. I think the shape is actually quite different from the Santa Fe – the Pony is fitted all the way through the bust where the Santa Fe seems to swing out mid-bust. I live the ones I’ve made!

    Like

    1. Oh, interesting! That sounds a bit like the Groove dress… which gets me thinking that i should make more versions of that pattern too! Thanks for the insight into the Pony tank!

      Like

  5. I would definitely try the Pony Tank. I made it the other day and hope to get blog photos soon (post already written). I was amazed that it fit me perfectly with no alterations and the v neck instructions are perfect. I have already cut out two more I love it so much!

    Like

    1. Oooh, I’ll look forward to seeing pictures! Glad to hear you really liked it too – along with Meg’s recommendation, that gives it definitely CSC approval! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  6. I’ve only sewn the Deer and Doe free t-shirt pattern. I’ve hacked it into a few slightly different version but nothing too adventuresome.

    Speaking of knits, Fabricland has some nice striped knit in right now. I’m trying hard to NOT BUY too much fabric so I without any, but your post reminds that t-shirts are so versatile and necessary to a casual summer wardrobe.

    Like

    1. Buy all the fabrics! You are making me want to go look for stripes even though I got a ridiculous amount of fabric on my birthday shopping trips. (Honestly, probably 30m+, easily.) Just 2 more days then it’s summer holidays and I can sew, sew , sew!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hard to believe it’s summer vacation time again! Tomorrow is #1 grandson’s kindergarten graduation πŸŽ“AND he’s “l’ami du jour”. He’s beyond excited, and asked me to come “picture” him & went out the door & invited his Poppa to come too…with his Honey (hoping he meant me πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚). First sewing for him…then sewing for me!!!
        (All tank patterns are 20% off at indiesew until June 30th with code btw.)

        Like

Leave a Reply

