Sewing Day With Mom

I mentioned at the end of my last post that my Mom and I had a sewing day planned this week… well, we sewed and it was so fun!

Untitled

Meet my mom, Cathy, who taught me how to sew! She is an active hiker and Morris dancer, retired teacher, and all-around awesome lady!

Before we met for our sewing day, we started gathering ideas. My sister and I made a massive Pinterest board with all kinds of styles from Lagenlook to trendy, and Mom picked out a few she liked. Mom brought a few fabrics from her stash, and I took a deep dive into mine!We didn’t actually discuss measurements in advance, nor did we take full measurements on the day.

As always when I sew for my family, I’m basically comparing their figures to mine and taking off or adding as needed, instead of actually following size charts! For Mom, I pulled out a few TNT patterns that I thought matched the items she’d pinned, and cut them down to her size. I sewed up a few partially-finished things in advance, then once she tried them on, I attached the bands and did hems while she cut out her project!

Sewing With Mom

The first project I sewed is a Hey June Santa Fe tank in view B. I usually make the version with cut-away shoulders, but for Mom I made the version with wider shoulders. I love this pattern myself, and I think it’s so cute on her – it’s got breezy, fun volume without overwhelming her figure.

Sewing With Mom

Next up is a tunic that I made by extending the Blank Slate Blanc Tee into a tunic. (Plus it’s actually got the curved hem from the Seamstress Erin Ultraviolet Tee!) It’s hard to tell but the vertical stripes at the front shoulders actually run all the way to the hem inspired by this pin of a Style Arc top sewn by Katie. Unfortunately by time we took the sides in, that detail gets a bit lost! Oh well. I love the colour on her!

Sewing With Mom

The final thing I started sewing in advance was this pieced tank inspired by the Tilton sisters! Mixing patterns into a single garment is totally outside my comfort zone, so I went the easy route of combining two prints from the same line, plus a stripe! It’s a Deer and Doe Plantain. Mom suggested the angled hem, and I think it was a stroke of brilliance! I’m really happy with how it turned out!

Sewing With Mom

Finally, while Mom was sewing, I cut out this tunic from her stash fabric. The pattern is something we traced off a RTW garment a few years ago, and she still likes the dress we made then, so we made another. Clearly, she loves a good black and white graphic print as much as I do!

What was Mom working on while I finished up those easy projects? Something awesome!

Sewing With Mom

Ta-da! A stripe-matched cardigan hacked from a Plantain tee! I just love the way it turned out. Mom has had this fabric for years, we couldn’t figure out how to use it best. As she cut it out, Mom really thought about where she wanted the wide and narrow stripes to fall, and I think the end result is ideal! Also, now we know where I got my penchant for pattern hacking – she’s a pro!

Alongside all those new projects, I also tried to tempt mom with some things from my wardrobe that either weren’t getting worn or are too small for me. Here are a few of the things she walked away with!

Sewing With Mom

All in all, we had a really fun and productive day! Mom has been sewing her whole life, so it was fun to bounce ideas around while we worked. My next project planned is something for my sister – since my own wardrobe is so full, it’s fun to spread the love! I’m also working on refashioning some things that I don’t wear/fit anymore into more useful items.

Untitled
Related, much?

 

Do you have crafty people in your family? Do you ever get the chance to make things together? 


37 thoughts on “Sewing Day With Mom

  1. What a heartwarming, lovely post Gillian! My mom wasn’t interested in sewing at all (nor was anyone else in my family) but we did cook together when I was young and it was great fun especially when we got to the sampling part. My mom (whom I didn’t look like at all – no one ever believed we could possibly have been even related never mind mother/daughter) did share a rather irreverent sense of humour. We would end up laughing uncontrollably at least once. My mother gasping for breath, begging me to shut up is one of my fondest memories 🙂

    Like

    1. Awww, that a lovely memory of snorting laughter with your mom! I went all my life being told I looked like my mom, until I took a summer course taught by my dad, and when people only saw him and I, they told me I looked like him! It gave me quite a shock!!! 😛

      Like

  2. Your sewing session with your mom looks so fun! My mom couldn’t sew 😦 NecessIty is the mother of invention, so I learned to sew buttons on the family clothes early on. (7 or 8 I think.) Fortunately Mom had friends who taught me to sew, and one taught me to use her treadle machine. My mom did teach me to cook, so she passed along what she knew and loved!

    Like

    1. Aw, how nice that she hooked you up with people who could feed your interests! And learning how to cook is a gift that keeps on giving!

      Like

  3. How fun! All of the resulting garments look fabulous on her! I had a similar Mom-sewalong this year and had a blast. I imagine we’ll do it again once my shipment from Bangkok arrives with all of my sewing stuff!

    Like

    1. You must be getting so excited to be reunited with your sewing machines and stash! Will you have a more permanent home by time they arrive, or are you staying in the current place for a while?

      Like

  4. That’s so fun! My mom does sew, and is the one who taught me to do so. She’s primarily a quilter and I’m obviously primarily into making clothes, so there’s not a whole lot we make together. When we do, it’s usually more along the lines of crafty stuff, like Christmas ornaments, and the last project we really collaborated on was making my giant stack of cloth diapers. But she does let me use her sewing space regularly, while she occupies the boys. And she is being my consultant for a current project. (I’m making a quilt for my husband, and he follows my Instagram, so I’m having to keep it quiet. So it’s nice to have her around to talk to about it and figure out the best way to handle certain steps!)

    Like

    1. I love that she gives you time to sew while she looks after the boys! Your husband is going to be so surprised by the quilt – I bet he has no idea!!!

      Like

  5. Wow–twins almost! My mom sewed a lot when she was a stay at home mom (with eight children it was a necessity), so I picked up the sewing gene from her. Looks like you and mom had a lot of productive fun.

    Like

    1. 8 kids! That IS a lot of sewing! I teach at a predominantly Mennonite-population school, and i’m always in awe when whole families of 4 or 5 girls show up in matching puff-sleeved, pleated-skirt dresses!

      Like

    1. That brings back memories of strange crafts we tried as kids! Rug-hooking, lots of cross-stitch, polymer clay.. the 80s was such a good time to be crafty!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Gillian, thank you for a wonderful Sewing Day! You amaze me with your talent and go-for-it approach to sewing, and well, most things! I can’t wait to see what a few Fall fabrics might become. 🍂🍁
    xxx Mom

    Like

    1. You haven’t lost a bit of your sewing knowledge, fo all you don’t sew often! Let’s book another sewing day soon!!! (Do you think we could fit Anne into the sewing room too???)

      Like

  7. What a lovely day with your Mom. You made some really beautiful things for her and I’m sure she will feel so loved when she wears them!

    Like

    1. It was fun trying to figure out her current style! I used to always sew brown and warm-coloured things for her, but since her hair has greyed she is really into cool colours – so i had to bypass the fabrics I’d stashed for her in the past and pick something different!

      Like

  8. Amazing. She looks super stylish. My mum cannot sew at all. She can’t even do a button (maybe a bit harsh I think she could probably do that) but she did once glue sequins on to our dance costumes!! Anyway, she still loves receiving things I make, she usually gets things which are too small for me as well!

    Like

  9. So amazing!! No one else sews in my family or friend circle and dream of days like this, all the tunics look fab and great cardi!!

    Like

    1. I’ve been working away at teaching my sister to sew, and she has turned out some perfect t-shirts this year! Maybe you could train someone up so you can have social sewing days too! 😉

      Like

    1. We had such a fun day! And my mom VOLUNTEERED to pose for blog pictures – I was so impressed! And happy, because it meant she did actually like the clothes! 😉

      Like

  10. You are very lucky. My mother lives in Florida, I live in Washington State. We have never sewed together. I love every top you made your Mom! She looks lovely in them. My favorite is the 2nd, the light blue, your Mom looks great in this one. The color is grand and it fits really well.

    Like

  11. Looks like you had a wonderful day, and your mom looks fabulous in her new clothes! My mom used to sew clothes for us when my brother and i were little, but then stopped for years. Her mom was a seamstress, she made wedding dresses for the people (well, women) in her village. Sadly she passed away when i was 5, so my mom lost her mom at a pretty young age. Last year her dad passed away too, and she decided to buy a new sewing machine for herself from the inheritance. She wanted to take up sewing again as a sort of hommage to her mom. I think it’s so lovely and I’m looking forward to more sewing sessions with my mom. Come to think of it, this would be a great stroy for tribute month, haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

